Jones County

Elections by Year


General Election

November 3, 2020

General Election
A General Election is the election in which federal and state officers, members of Congress and of the general assembly, county and township officers, and other officers appear on the ballot. General Elections are held the 1st Tuesday after the 1st Monday in November of each even-numbered year.

List of General Election Candidates

Voter Registration

Pre-registration deadline for voter registration closes at 5:00 p.m. Saturday, October 24, 2020. Persons wishing to participate in this election who register to vote after October 24, 2020, will be required to provide proof of identification (i.e. current and valid photo identification card with an expiration date), AND proof of residency in their voting precinct, when they go to the polls on election day, or when they request an absentee ballot. Other provisions may also apply. Persons not registered to vote by October 24, 2020, should expect a longer processing time at the polls on election day.

Absentee Ballots

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning October 5, 2020, for mail and in-person voting. Download the absentee ballot request form.

Voted absentee ballots returned by mail MUST be postmarked no later than Monday, November 2, 2020, and then received in the Auditor’s Office not later than 12:00 noon on Monday, November 9, 2020, to be considered for counting.  Voters are advised to keep in mind that postal delivery is now two to five days.

Extended Hours

Extended and Saturday hours are available for voter registration and absentee voting in the Jones County Auditor’s Office. In addition to regular hours of Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., extended office hours during the 2020 general election season will be as follows:

Voter ID Requirements 

Click above for examples of acceptable voter identification requirements.


Notice to Voters - Legislative Districts

As a result of the legislative redistricting process following the 2010 census, Jones County was divided into two legislative districts.

Election Results

0/14 Precincts Counted

Precincts and Polling Locations

Anamosa Polling Center

Lawrence Community Center · 600 E. Main St. · Anamosa, IA 52205
Anamosa North/Cass
Includes: Anamosa North city precinct, Cass Township, and a very small portion of Fairview Township lying north of Holt Street
·  Precinct Map
Anamosa South/Jackson
Includes: Anamosa South city precinct, Jackson Township, and a small portion of Fairview Township lying north of Highway 64 and generally east of Old Dubuque Road
·  Precinct Map
Includes: Larger portion of Fairview Township not described in the Anamosa North/Cass and Anamosa South/Jackson precincts

Monticello Polling Center

Berndes Center · 766 N. Maple St. · Monticello, IA 52310
Castle Grove/Lovell/Wayne
Includes: Castle Grove, Lovell, and Wayne Townships.

Monticello 1
Includes: City Ward 1
·  Precinct Map
Monticello 2
Includes: City Ward 2
·  Precinct Map
Monticello 3
Includes: City Ward 3
·  Precinct Map
Monticello 4
Includes: City Ward 4
·  Precinct Map

Includes: City of Martelle and Greenfield Township

Martelle Fire Station · 212 Iowa Street · Martelle, IA 52305

Includes: City of Oxford Junction and Oxford Township

Oxford Junction Fire Station · 201 Main Street · Oxford Junction, IA 52323

Includes: the Jones County portion of City of Cascade, and Richland and Washington Townships

Cascade EMS Center · 803 1st Avenue West · Cascade, IA 52033

Includes: Cities of Morley and Olin, and Hale and Rome Townships

Olin School Community Meeting Room · 301 Parkway Street · Olin, IA 52320

Scotch Grove/Madison/Clay
Includes: City of Onslow, and Clay, Madison, and Scotch Grove Townships

Onslow Community Room · 105 South Main Street · Onslow, IA 52321

Includes: City of Wyoming and Wyoming Township

Wyoming Memorial Hall · 130 West Main Street · Wyoming, IA 52362
All polling places for this election are handicapped accessible, however, any voter who is physcially unable to enter the polling place has the right to vote in the voter's vehicle. For further information, please contact the County Auditor's Office by phone at (319) 462-2282, TTY at 711+ (319) 462-2282, or email at
This webpage was printed on September 19, 2020. For the most current election-related information, visit the Jones County, Iowa, Elections website at
powered by Neapolitan Labs