Jones County
Did you know you have three options for returning your voted ballot? #1 by MAIL, #2 HAND DELIVER to the Auditor’s Office (or voting room in the Courthouse basement), or #3 drop in the secure DROP BOX by the garage in the Courthouse parking lot.

Elections by Year


Primary Election

June 2, 2020

Primary Election
The Primary Election is an election to determine which candidates will qualify for the General Election for a given party. In Iowa you must be a member of the political party of which you wish to vote for in order to participate. This is known as a "closed primary." The primary election is held on the 1st Tuesday following the 1st Monday in June of each even-numbered year.

Official Election Results

14/14 Precincts Counted

Highlighted Race(s)

US Representative District 1 - Republican

14 Precincts Counted · Unofficial Results
Ashley Hinson R
Thomas Hansen R

County Board of Supervisors District 1 - Republican

14 Precincts Counted · Unofficial Results
John Schlarmann R
Wayne R. Manternach R

County Board of Supervisors District 5 - Republican

14 Precincts Counted · Unofficial Results
Jeff Swisher R
Lloyd Eaken R

US Senator - Democratic

14 Precincts Counted · Unofficial Results
Theresa Greenfield D
Michael Franken D
Kimberly Graham D
Eddie J. Mauro D
Cal Woods D

Archived Election Details

List of Primary Candidates

Voter Registration

Pre-registration deadline for voter registration closes at 5:00 p.m. Friday, May 22, 2020. Persons wishing to participate in this election who register to vote after May 22, 2020, will be required to provide proof of identification (i.e. current and valid photo identification card with an expiration date), AND proof of residency in their voting precinct, when they go to the polls on election day, or when they request an absentee ballot. Other provisions may also apply. Persons not registered to vote by May 22, 2020, should expect a longer processing time at the polls on election day.

Absentee Ballots

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning Thursday, April 23, 2020, BY MAIL, and beginning Monday, May 4, 2020 for in-person voting.

Voted absentee ballots returned by mail MUST be postmarked no later than Monday, June 1, 2020, and then received in the Auditor’s Office not later than 12:00 noon on Monday, June 8, 2020, to be considered for counting.  Voters are advised to keep in mind that postal delivery is now two to five days.

Extended Hours

Extended and Saturday hours are available for voter registration and absentee voting in the Jones County Auditor’s Office. In addition to regular hours of Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., extended office hours during the 2020 primary election season will be as follows:

Voter ID Requirements

Notice to Voters - Legislative Districts

As a result of the legislative redistricting process following the 2010 census, Jones County was divided into two legislative districts.

This webpage was printed on October 23, 2020. For the most current election-related information, visit the Jones County, Iowa, Elections website at
powered by Neapolitan Labs